How I became interested in travel

While traveling the world is something that looked cool from afar, it hasn’t always been something that I thought I could or would do.

As a kid, I’ve visited England and Canada because I have family in those places, but visiting places like Paris or Rome were an afterthought to me.  It wasn’t until the summer of 2014 when I realized that I could go to those places and then some.

My brother, who is a teacher in Brooklyn, decided to take a long trip to Europe.  In addition to London to visit the family, he went to Barcelona, Rome, Greece and France.  When I saw some of the pictures that he took,   I immediately thought to myself that I need to see the world, but I didn’t think it was possible financially.

About a month after my brother returned home, he told me about a flight from New York to London for around $600 with Norwegian Air. Normally, those flights were in the $800 range at the lowest so I jumped on this offer.

I did not go to any other countries in Europe because I figured that it would be expensive to travel there like it is in the US.  For example, I paid about $165 for a flight from Philadelphia to Boston.  While in London, one of my cousins told me that it’s really cheap to travel around Europe.  If I had known that before this trip, I definitely would have been to some other places.

When I got home, I did some research and found that traveling throughout most continents is cheap, so now when I go to another country I don’t just stop there.

In addition to London and Canada, I have been to Belgium, Germany, United Arab Emirates and South Africa and I’m always thinking of where to go next.

Leave a Reply

